Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
02-26-2020, 10:15 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Pentax Super A might be mold, looking for advice

Hi there,

I've got a Super A recently, and it's in a fairly good condition except for the mold (if it's mold) that's visible through the viewfinder, but not through the mirror box.

There's some debris from the mirror cushion, so not sure if that relates to the what I assume as mold.

I currently live in Germany, as I'm studying there. Was wondering if any of you had some advice on the afforementioned issue and or know a repair shop or two?

here are some links to the direct pics:

https://i.imgur.com/xo1da90.jpg (Viewfinder/no lens)

https://i.imgur.com/I9DTgGs.jpg (mirror box front)

https://i.imgur.com/EjrTLgo.jpg (mirror box view up)

https://i.imgur.com/Wknenfe.jpg (mirror box close up)

Pardon the terrible mobile picturres btw

Thanks for taking the time to read!

02-26-2020, 11:17 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

That looks like mold on the eyepiece, a very strange place to get it. My solution to mold has always been to get rid of the equipment as quickly as possible to try to ensure it doesn't spread. Fortunately, I live in a very dry environment, and haven't had to deal with it often.
02-26-2020, 12:37 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I agree with Wheatfield; film cameras go for cheap enough that such things are not worth the headache. It *does* look like mold and if it's there there's no telling where else inside the camera it can be...
02-26-2020, 01:34 PM   #4

Original Poster
Well, considering I got it dirt cheap. I could probably sell it without or minimal loss. Appreciate the advice.

02-26-2020, 02:34 PM   #5
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by JackShang84 Quote
Well, considering I got it dirt cheap. I could probably sell it without or minimal loss. Appreciate the advice.