Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-09-2021, 11:10 AM   #1
Forum Member

tripod collar issues on 70-200mm f2.8

Hello, I wasn't sure how to post a question to get some help with my Pentax 70-200mm f2.8 lens. I love this lens, but have had some real issues with the tripod collar coming loose at the lens connection. I am a professional sports photographer for high schools and colleges, so am moving around, running around a lot with my camera/lens on a monopod, so the tripod collar is essential. I have had it repaired once by Precision Camera Repair via Ricoh/Pentax, but in less than a year, it is already very loose again. Can I just glue the loose part that only stays attached to the lens collar and doesn't need to move ever? Please help, as time is of the essence. Thank you so much!

03-09-2021, 11:18 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by loyalt Quote
I have had it repaired once by Precision Camera Repair via Ricoh/Pentax, but in less than a year, it is already very loose again. Can I just glue the loose part that only stays attached to the lens collar and doesn't need to move ever?
I experienced the same thing, except I didn't need to sent mine for repair because I understood the problem before damaging the collar. My first reaction would have been to tighten the bolt more, but after examining the construction I found that the origin of loosening came from two small screws. Luckily I didn't force like most people might tend to do. I added a piece of aluminum foil to act a soft joint and tightened the two small screws again (without forcing too much), no glue, just dried mounted. Now fixed and didn't come lose again. And since the problem was the same (same construction) for the tripod collar of my D-FA 150-450 , I also fixed it, and never had to sent it for repair.

Last edited by biz-engineer; 03-09-2021 at 11:29 AM.
03-09-2021, 11:31 AM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian