Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-01-2016, 10:44 AM   #1
Pentaxian

AWB at extreme low light and high ISO

Hi there,

I don't have a K1 yet but looking forward to it, I just want to ask a simple question, hope some of the lucky guys that owns the K1 can give me an answer !

I have been using the K3 for 2-3 yrs., there is one problem in particular keeps bugging me. I shoot lot of low light photos under street light, that call for near max ISO on the K3, I tried AWB but it didin't work well, all the photos came out yellowish to the point that can't be corrected, some time the photos even turn out reddish, I thought it was the high ISO mess things up and don't bother to try menu white balance, but just tonight I took some low lights at Tungsten and WOW, all the photos turn out great with correct color, much much better than using auto setting, and the good thing is the K3 allows while balance override when shoot with flash, so that I can keep using Tungsten while shoot with flash when I need to without changing anything. So now I know the high ISO on the K3 isn't too bad, but don't know about the K1, I believe bigger sensor means better low light quality but what about AWB ?

12-01-2016, 10:51 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Have you tried Multi Auto While Balance on the K-3?
12-01-2016, 11:02 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
Yes, but only slightly better than without.
12-01-2016, 02:00 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Another thing you might look at is White Balance Adjustable Range ( C 2 11 on K-7) This can adjust the white balance even if White Balance is set to a specific light source and can have weird effects especially on low level exposures. Default setting is 1. I set mine to 2 which is OFF.

12-01-2016, 05:00 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter