Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-22-2017, 08:01 PM   #1

Which lens on a budget?

First of all, I just want to say that I am so jealous of those of you who live
near, or get to travel to, such beautiful places. Where I live, there are mostly just
trees. No oceans, or beaches, or deserts, or mountains, or wide open spaces.
Just trees. So from the bottom of my heart, I just want to thank you for sharing your
beautiful shots with the rest of us.

I am saving slowly, but surely, towards a K-1, and hope to be able
to buy one some time next year. Unfortunately, that means I will have,
hardly any funds for lenses. So I have a few questions since I will need
to get creative. I dont want to use crop mode, so I guess that means none
of the APS-C lenses will work. I dont care if I have to give up certain
metering modes, or auto focus. I am not a professional, and only take photos
for my own enjoyment, which I have done for the last 50 years. Retirement is
looming on the horizen, and hopefully, I will get to travel to, and photograph
some of the places the rest of you have visited.

So here are my questions. Would old 35mm lenses work in full frame on the K-1?
Are there any adapters that would allow APS-C lenses to work in FF? If I were to
start saving for a Pentax FF lens for the K-1, which would you recommend if I
wanted a good all-around lens on a budget. I would probably get a high quality
2x teleconverter to extend functionality of any existing lens for a while.

11-22-2017, 08:14 PM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by jeryst Quote

So here are my questions. Would old 35mm lenses work in full frame on the K-1?
Are there any adapters that would allow APS-C lenses to work in FF? If I were to
start saving for a Pentax FF lens for the K-1, which would you recommend if I
wanted a good all-around lens on a budget. I would probably get a high quality