Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-05-2021, 07:49 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Back-of-camera preview and astrophotography

Hi all--I am new to Pentax, just bought a K-1 mII last week for astrophotography. (I have been shooting night sky pix for 3 years with a Canon 6D.) I am finding the BOC on the K-1 to be very misleading when trying to judge exposure in the field. Below is a comparison visual that shows the BOC of one of the very first images I took; the RAW shot as it looked when I opened it (yikes!); and the final edit. I nearly cried when I opened that RAW image and the shot looked almost totally black, as you can see. I was able to dig out the detail in Photoshop (bottom shot below is the final edit), but it was a lot of stretching to get any detail at all, and this isn't great for final image quality.

I have looked at using the Outdoor View Setting to dim down the BOC images, but am wondering if there is a different option that would give me a more realistic preview that doesn't require dimming down the entire screen.

Also of note: I am shooting RAW+JPEG, and the JPEG, when opened in Photoshop, more closely resembles the BOC image. But these RAW images are ridiculously dark.

Hoping someone has had this experience and can help me find a way to get BOC that actually resemble the RAW files.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-1 Mark II  Photo 
07-05-2021, 08:08 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
On my KP the “outdoor view” option boosts brightness. I haven’t yet done any Astro but my plans this year include it. I would have suggested setting the screen in red light mode and transferring images to your phone to view - except your jpg and raw files are far different from each other. What was the actual exposure and what lens was used?