Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
08-06-2021, 08:59 PM   #1
Site Supporter

An odd problem with the 3rd control dial

Hello alll,

I recently purchased a lightly used K-1, a camera I have dreamed of owning for years before it even came to market. I am so pleased and have been *loving* it so far. What a machine. I'm just starting to learn some of the various capabilities. I noticed a problem, though. The "third control dial" -- the unlabeled one farthest to the right on top of the camera -- is behaving oddly. If I set the camera for this dial to control anything -- exposure compensation, or ISO, for example, it doesn't work properly -- it usually either doesn't go the next step up or down or it skips steps. For example, in trying to change exposure compensation, the first click might do nothing, the second click +.5, the third and fourth clicks nothing, and with the fifth click it is suddenly at +2.0.

Has anyone ever had an issue like this? Here is a short video of what I mean: Shared album - Andrew Patteson - Google Photos

I'm thankful in advance for any help you might be able to provide. This forum is such a great Pentax resource!

08-06-2021, 11:47 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi and welcome.

That does seem like a bit of a peculiar issue. To test if the wheel is otherwise functioning as it should, can you check what it does when you set it to any of the "on-off" type functions, such as SR, Crop or WiFi?

Regards,
Mark
08-07-2021, 05:50 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian