Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-10-2021, 08:32 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Tips on 1st birthday cake smash

Hi,

Due to the covid situation, I have cancelled my daughter's first birthday party next month and hence planning to take at least a cake smash photography at home with my family to capture the occasion. I have never done a cake smash photography before and I have limited space in my apartment as well. Hence need some tips. Below is my gear.

Pentax K1
Sigma Art 35mm 1.4
DFA 77mm 1.8 ltd
100mm Macro
28-105 WR zoom
DFA* 70-200 2.8
Samyang 14mm 2.8
Metz 58 AF2 flash
Neewer collapsible reflector

I will be probably using only Sigma 35mm ART since its convenient for indoor. Need to get some backdrop (Vinyl or paper to have a wrinkle free backdrop) online along with stands to hold them. Am not sure if Metz AF2 on camera will be good or look for some options for off camera and soft box. Not sure if its worth to purchase cactus trigger now since there is not going to be any upgrade from Cactus or look for other options such as Godox AD200 Pro with trigger. A bit of expensive upgrade. Would appreciate any tips.

08-10-2021, 11:50 PM   #2
pjv
Proudly Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

I agree with your choice of the Siggy 35.......a great lens on any camera. For me, on camera bounce flash is fine in confined spaces. You have got time to play with the settings of the camera/lens/flash combo, and where to shoot in your apartment. But I feel the most important thing to do is get more than 1 cake !!!
If you miss the shot you want, I'm sure your bubba would be happy to do it again.........and again........and again....
08-11-2021, 12:15 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by pjv Quote