Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
12-10-2021, 01:11 PM   #1

Astrophotography with lenses > 100mm and Astrotracer

Hello,

I am new to the Pentax system and astro photography with bigger focal lengths. Of course the main feature that made me switch to Pentax is the astrotracer feature.
My question is, how do people manage to take multiple hours of images since astrotracer does not actually "track" the stars? Do we have to reposition the stars/ constellation to the middle of the frame after each shot? or people do any other mechanism to automate the process? I would be very interested to hear different options...

Thanks in advance!
Vineeth

12-10-2021, 01:33 PM - 4 Likes   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by vinikrish Quote
My question is, how do people manage to take multiple hours of images since astrotracer does not actually "track" the stars? Do we have to reposition the stars/ constellation to the middle of the frame after each shot? or people do any other mechanism to automate the process? I would be very interested to hear different options...
I frequently use astrotracer and once I get things calibrated and focused I use an intervolometer to take several shots with the object moving across the frame from shot to shot. I will usually take 6-8 shots like this at 400mm before repositioning the camera and then begin the process anew. This method actually has one benefit as it basically auto dithers the image so that hot or cold pixels get erased during the stacking process and the dither also in theory allows one to make use of the ability to upscale and do a super resolution image (drizzle is the astrophotography term for it). The downside is that because not all portions of the final image have the same number of exposures noise will generally increase as you go towards the edge of the frame.