Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-04-2022, 08:12 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Another Astrotracer thread (I'm a newbie at this)

Here's the story. Just a few nights ago I finally figured out how to use Astrotracer and got some useable results with my K-1ii at 450mm, f/5.6, 20 sec, 1600ISO (aside they were a hair out of focus.) Fast forward a few cloudy nights to a partially clear one, I decide to try it again. Instead of running my 150-450, thought I'd try my new D FA* 70-200/2.8. So I calibrate and set it up. Max running time says 2:20. so I think I'll try 1:00, f/2.8, ISO 1600. Similar settings when I had a real tracker and could run 1:30+ minutes subs. Well, focus seemed good (used a Batinov mask and checking diffraction spikes. So I let it run for a minute. Everything was way overexposed and there was streaking. OK, back off the exposure to f/4, 400 ISO and it looks more like it should other than the streaking. I calibrated the camera before I started shooting, had a good GPS signal, so I thought I'm good to go.

Was I just running it too long? 30 or 40 sec subs instead of 60? Obviously I running everything too hot as it was overexposed.I was using a two second self timer, SR was off, e-shutter was being used to minimize camera movement as much as possible. No wind and I was no where near it. Very sturdy tripod was used. Trying to figure out the streaking. If you look at how the streaks are, it looks like something else is going on, some kind of camera movement (lmagnify the photo and you'll see the jerks) that I can't figure out. Ideas? I've done some astro before with and without a tracker, so I'm not totally new to this. Look at the EXIF. What am I doing wrong, besides overexposing? Am I just trying to run AT too long?

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-1 Mark II  Photo 
02-04-2022, 09:25 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums