Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 11 Likes Search this Thread
05-30-2022, 04:23 AM   #1

K-1 Movie Focus

I am new at attempting to use the Movie mode on my K-1.

If I am in Movie mode (manual, 30fps, 1/60th), shooting a static subject, using the shutter-button half-way to establish initial focus, is there a way to maintain focus as I either very slowly move the camera closer to the subject, or as I stay in place and zoom the lens?

I have tried holding down the AF button, no luck; holding down the shutter button half-way, that's not it.

Any assistance will be appreciated.

Thank you.

05-30-2022, 08:58 AM   #2
Pentaxian

I am pretty sure the K1 does not support AF during recording. It will focus before you start but once it is recording you can only do manual focus.
05-30-2022, 09:21 AM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you press and hold the AF button, you'll get access to a (rather slow) movie af function during recording. There's no way to get the camera to automatically maintain focus, though, unfortunately.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
05-30-2022, 12:00 PM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
If you press and hold the AF button, you'll get access to a (rather slow) movie af function during recording. There's no way to get the camera to automatically maintain focus, though, unfortunately.
Adam, Vector -

Of course, not the answer I wanted, but the answer I expected. Thank you for taking time to address the issue.

Chas.

05-30-2022, 12:26 PM - 1 Like   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery