Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 150673 Likes Search this Thread
06-03-2018, 06:16 AM - 5 Likes   #16621
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
The Inner Workings Of A Poppy

06-03-2018, 06:29 AM - 3 Likes   #16622
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by gaweidert Quote
My only problem with editing is when people present it as a factual happening. I used to work in the printing industry. The magazine articles that always showed to supermodels fabulous "post baby" body were always heavily edited. Skin smoothed, stretch marks removed etc. In this case this was an outright lie.

The cover of Time magazine showing the Challenger explosion was the most heavily edited cover they had ever shown to that point. There was a lot of debate over it before they decided to use it. The original photo was almost completely washed out by the glare from the explosion and fire. But it was a truthful representation of what happened.

I have seen a two page spread of a major news magazine edited to remove a protest sign with offensive language. They also cleaned up some of the debris from the damage done by the rampaging protestors. Not only that, but the 250,000 copies of the magazine that were already printed were sent to the shredder and they whole run reprinted. What was removed, helped paint the protestors in a more positive light. This was highly unethical to do in a shot purporting to show the truth.