Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 81 Likes Search this Thread
02-29-2016, 10:23 AM   #1
Inactive Account

K-1 for wildlife / birding ?

according to you, is the use of K1 is relevant for this kind of practice ? with or without crop mode....
Does the loss of focus would be offset by other advantages, compared with an APS-C ?
I regularly take birding pictures with a 300mm F4 & K5IIs that I think are quite nice... maybe with a 150-450mm i could expect similar shots (~400/450mm) with a gain in terms of quality : light transitions ISO etc... ?

02-29-2016, 10:45 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I will not be using my K1 when I get it for birding. It's going to be a great camera for my landscapes - especially with it's new pixel shift mode. But no camera can be great at everything.

I am a serious bird photographer, and have been for over 10 years. For fast action birds in flight I only use My Nikon DX cameras and Nikkor telephotos. My Nikon system is super fast and has highly accurate auto focus (over 90% in focus!!!). I have many birder friends who shoot Canon.

Sure, one can capture the occasional odd bird or two with Pentax equipment, but I know no serious birder who shoots with Pentax.
02-29-2016, 10:47 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Of course the K-1 can be used for wildlife/birding. However, the K-3 is probably the better tool for it. The free 1.5x crop of APS-C means you get a little bit more reach than with FF (for the same framing, you have to be physically closer with the K-1). And using the K-1 in APS-C mode gives you the equivalent of the 16Mpx K-5ii where as the K-3 would give you 24Mpx.
02-29-2016, 10:48 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster
I was thinking more static shots, not necessarily birds in flight or animals in quick race

02-29-2016, 11:01 AM - 1 Like   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter