Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
03-12-2016, 01:31 PM   #1
Veteran Member
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Some Old Guy K1 Questions?

I am not very good at camera technology, only the simple stuff, am just a pure amateur and do not aspire to be much more, just to enjoy all possible in my personal shooting experiences.

I currently shoot with the K5IIs and find it the best Pentax I have ever owned, absolutely satisfied. Most of my current shooting is of birds, squirrels, and other wildlife.....not much interested in BIF, just stills.

My interest is in the K1 and the Pentax 150-450, which along with my current Bigma 50-500 would comprise most of my usage.

Now the questions.

Beyond the known advantages/disadvantages what will I gain?

I am thinking that if I use the crop factor on the K1 I will still have the long range ability of my K5IIs, just not the bigger files of the K1? Would this result in any improvement in noise and would I still get an advantage in that area over my current camera even shooting int he crop mode?

The better SR is also very appealing to me, so I consider that another plus. If you have more, I could use them to convince Mrs Rupert that such an expense is justified.....and do it legitimately instead of stealing from her brokerage accounts....been there done that and spent a few nights in my shop for it. It's heated in the winter...but summer is coming and I want to try to go legit because the shop has no air conditioning.

Other than the nonsense, I am serious about my questions. If you can offer your thoughts I will appreciate it.Thanks!

Regards!

03-12-2016, 02:00 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

My basic understanding.

1)faster auto focus
2) better low light signal to noise ratio ( new generation sensor with slightly larger pixels)
3) wide angles when not in crop mode.
4) giant buffer space when cropped