Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-07-2016, 05:22 PM   #16
Senior Member




Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Calgary, AB CA
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 292
QuoteOriginally posted by 88lukas88 Quote
any experience with the older Sigma 70-200/2.8 EX APO ??? thanks
I just tried mine - says "Sigma APO DG" on the left of the distance window, and "70-200mm 1:2.8 II Macro HSM" on the other side. Serial 1024951 (FWIW).

Lockup.

Vaporlock.

In the words of the Malibu TV commercial "It's total gridlock, mon!"

So, no.

But like the islanders, I will wait for a firmware fix, or as a last resort, hope that Sigma has a clue.

05-09-2016, 06:41 PM   #17
Veteran Member
volosong's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Antelope Valley, SoCal
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 660
QuoteOriginally posted by 88lukas88 Quote
any experience with the older Sigma 70-200/2.8 EX APO ??? thanks
Just received my body today, and after my obligatory 'first shot' using my original M50/1.7, (my very first Pentax lens that came with my MX back in 1976), I tried a few other lenses. I was especially interested in my Sigma twins. I have the original versions, both the 70-200/2.8 and the 100-300/4; as well as the matching EX 1.4x and EX 2.0x converters. I tried all combinations, and am happy to report that they all work well. At first, I thought the 70-200/2.8 didn't work, but then discovered that I need both the lens and the body to be in AF mode, (I had just shot a couple exposures using my A400/5.6 which is MF only, and forgot to flip the switch back to AF).

Note: Sigma says that the 100-300/4 with the 2x converter does not auto-focus, however I never had any problems with my multiple Pentax bodies over the years.

To recap:

Sigma 70-200mm 1:2.8 APO EX
Sigma 100-300mm 1:4 APO EX
Sigma APO Tele Converter 1.4x EX
Sigma APO Tele Converter 2x EX

(all first generations of these lenses)

All combinations auto-focus on my K-1 just fine. The 70-200 is really quick, the 100-300 auto-focuses like on the bodies of old.

Last edited by volosong; 05-09-2016 at 06:49 PM.
06-11-2016, 12:53 AM   #18
New Member




Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
I can confirm that the "APO DG EX Sigma 70-200 II Macro HSM" definitely does NOT work on my newly acquired K-1. It hangs. I am running firmware version v 1.10 looking forward to a fix in the next firmware upgrade soon!!!
06-12-2016, 03:45 AM   #19
Senior Member




Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 115
QuoteOriginally posted by heycosta Quote
I am running firmware version v 1.10 looking forward to a fix in the next firmware upgrade soon!!!
Won't happen.

Though it is a problem of the K-1's firmware (nothing should cause a lockup, that's just plain bad error handling), it is caused by a Sigma lens. Pentax has no business relations to Sigma, Sigma has not licensed anything from Pentax, so Sigma is considered the culprit.

As stated numerous times:

There are two variants of the "70-200/2.8 APO DG EX Macro II HSM" around. Those can be discerned by looking at the exif data produced by a camera using the lens (you'd have to use something older than the K-1, obviously). The faulty lens gives LensID "8 255", whilst the working variant gives LensID "8 16".

Supposedly Sigma's repair services are abled to perform a firmware update of the lens' firmware.


Last edited by funktionsfrei; 06-12-2016 at 03:46 AM. Reason: removed unnecessary double-quote
06-12-2016, 05:59 PM   #20
New Member




Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
QuoteOriginally posted by funktionsfrei Quote
Won't happen.


There are two variants of the "70-200/2.8 APO DG EX Macro II HSM" around. Those can be discerned by looking at the exif data produced by a camera using the lens (you'd have to use something older than the K-1, obviously). The faulty lens gives LensID "8 255", whilst the working variant gives LensID "8 16".

Supposedly Sigma's repair services are abled to perform a firmware update of the lens' firmware.
Thanks for your reply.
I have checked and indeed it is the "8 255" version. I have contacted the Sigma distributor in Australia and am awaiting their reply.
06-12-2016, 10:34 PM   #21
Loyal Site Supporter
i_trax's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth Western Australia
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 1,076
QuoteOriginally posted by noser Quote
I just tried mine - says "Sigma APO DG" on the left of the distance window, and "70-200mm 1:2.8 II Macro HSM" on the other side. Serial 1024951 (FWIW).

Lockup.

Vaporlock.

In the words of the Malibu TV commercial "It's total gridlock, mon!"

So, no.

But like the islanders, I will wait for a firmware fix, or as a last resort, hope that Sigma has a clue.
same with mine, very disappointed!
07-26-2016, 04:41 AM - 1 Like   #22
New Member




Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
QuoteOriginally posted by heycosta Quote
Thanks for your reply.
I have checked and indeed it is the "8 255" version. I have contacted the Sigma distributor in Australia and am awaiting their reply.
My Sigma 70-200 which was not working on the K-1 is now working after a visit to the Pentax distributor - CR Kennedy - in Melbourne, Australia, While I waited, they took it in the back and "updated the firmware" (which is actually replacing some electronics in the lens) and I was on my way with a working lens! The camera turns on fine and the lens focuses fairly fast. It may be my imagination, but it feels like it focuses faster than the K-3.
They have run out of Sigma lens mounts but when they get more in stock, I was told to return it and they will replace the mount on the lens so that it doesn't scratch the camera. At the same time they will replace the front plate of the camera as the existing mount on the lens has made a created a tiny scratch . Personally, it is such a small scratch that I wouldn't have bothered to have it fixed, but they offered.
07-26-2016, 05:20 AM   #23
Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter
BigMackCam's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North East of England
Posts: 5,492
Sounds like very good service from CR Kennedy!

Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
dg, dslr, full frame, full-frame, hsm, k-1, k-1 and sigma, k1, lens, nicely, os, pentax k-1, sigma, sigma 70-200mm
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will autofocus work between K-1 and my Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM II Macro? dcpropilot Pentax K-1 29 05-18-2016 09:10 AM
Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG OS HSM $1099 stormtech Pentax Price Watch 2 11-27-2013 09:26 PM
Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG OS HSM Vinelander Lens Sample Photo Archive 5 05-19-2013 11:22 PM
Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG OS HSM vs Pentax FA* 80-200mm F2.8? vectrln Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 5 07-27-2011 07:41 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:45 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top