Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
06-01-2016, 08:39 AM - 1 Like   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
An outsider’s amateur initial impression of the K-1.

Let’s get some disclaimers out of the way.
  • I’m a hobbyist. Not a professional. Take everything I say with the dead sea’s worth of salt. It’s very likely I’m wrong or something I say is an issue can easily be corrected.
  • This is my first pentax camera. I won’t touch on many of the gripes people have about moved buttons because the whole layout is new to me.
  • Most of these notes are ill thought out, semi-stream of consciousness impressions. They’ll be rambling, incoherent and contradictory.
  • I’m comparing the K-1 to the Nikon D40x. It’s not a fair comparison but since this is the transition I’m making, these are my thoughts.
  • I didn’t get to play with the K-1 until after 10pm last night so this is strictly handling impressions only.

It’s big. It dwarfs my D40x. It’s heavy. I’ve obsessed over the numbers but until you get it in your had it’s hard to fully appreciate the weight. I spent most of the night with the FA 43 ltd on the K-1. The grip is deep. I have small hands and the grip is too deep for my personal preferences. YMMV. I don’t like how my ring and pinky fingers jut out more because the grip tapers out a little. On my D40x my pinky would rest under the hand grip (the grip and camera body are tiny) and support it. I always felt the D40x grip was too small but the K-1 goes too far the other way (for my hand size). It’s likely something I’ll get used to and will be a non issue but right now...I don’t want to say it’s a bothersome but it’s conspicuous.

The other thing I noticed is that in part because of the larger grip it’s hard to do thing with my right hand without also supporting the camera with my left.