Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-07-2016, 01:44 PM   #1
Forum Member

K1 stuck in manual mode

Tonight turned on the camera and it was refusing to come out of manual mode. Even a rest and nothing.

I see there is a video in bugs thread but no reply.

Anyone seen this before have I done something wrong, before I go to the dealer..

06-07-2016, 01:56 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Battery fully charged?
06-07-2016, 02:03 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the club! I've been using my K-5IIs in Manual for several months now. It stuck there one day, and never unstuck. I can turn the dial, but it doesn't change anything at all.
06-07-2016, 02:05 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Here's a link to my original thread back when it happened... https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/6-pentax-dslr-discussion/306317-help-k-5i...ting-mode.html

Sorry to hear about that, I got mine used, so it's not quite as bad. If I had paid $1,800 I would be pretty sad right now!

06-07-2016, 02:09 PM   #5
Forum Member

Original Poster
Battery is fully charged, dial has failed,
It's a good start, I used a recommended dealer and I paid on card.
Guess I will know in the morning when I call then if the recommendation was worth it.
06-07-2016, 02:11 PM   #6
Forum Member

Might you have unintentionally pushed the Lock button--left-front of camera?
06-07-2016, 02:18 PM   #7
Forum Member

Original Poster
Nope checked that, tried everything even removing the lens to check contacts

06-07-2016, 02:52 PM   #8
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

My K-3 has done something like this once or twice. Both cases were related to battery charge I think. When I swapped batteries it worked again.
06-07-2016, 02:58 PM   #9
Forum Member

Original Poster
Tried battery swaps. Nope.
06-07-2016, 03:04 PM   #10
Administrator
Site Webmaster

And the camera isn't showing F-- as the aperture?