Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
06-15-2016, 05:14 AM   #1
Forum Member

Question on What We See When We Change Aperture and Shutter in LiveView

I am a newbie to Pentax, but not to photography. I just got a copy of the Sigma 35mm f.1.4 ART lens, which is coupled to the K1 body. Very nice lens. Here is my question:

Even with a lens that is coupled to the Pentax K1. When I look at a still-life scene in LiveView (I am shooting in pixel-shift mode, non moving), I see the flowers I am going to be photographing. When I turn one of the dials, I can see the shutter change and a change in the light on the flowers. When I turn the other dial, I see the aperture change, which also affects the light.

However, it seems, aside from darkening and lightening, that what I see does not change, aperture-wise, meaning I don't see more or less of the depth-of-field in LiveView, but just a static view of the lens wide open. Is this the way it is? Is there no way, with a coupled lens, to see the aperture change the DOF in Live-View, AND when I magnify, same deal. Magnified, I have to TRY to focus on the lens wide-open, even if I have it set to f/16 and need to see the depth of field in order to focus properly.

Please enlighten me to the possibilities.

06-15-2016, 05:34 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Will the DOF preview button not do what you want?
06-15-2016, 05:36 AM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Check p55 of your manual, Michael ... you can zoom into the Digital Preview.
06-15-2016, 05:45 AM   #4
Unregistered User

Turn the On/Off swith to the DOF preview position and it will change.

You may also zoom in on a spot and do the same to see it closely

06-15-2016, 05:45 AM   #5
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by clackers Quote
Check p55 of your manual, Michael ... you can zoom into the Digital Preview.