Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-12-2016, 12:49 PM   #1
Site Supporter
micromacro's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,015
Sigma 30mm f1.4 DC EX on K-1

I've tried my first copy of Sigma 30mm f1.4 on K-1.
First, here is the story. I bought that lens on ebay back in December last year. It did not perform well on K5iis, so I returned it to the seller from Japan.
The seller has never received it, I just accepted my loss, and bought another copy (which I sold recently)

Today I received the package, lightly smashed. Yep, it was my lens I sent it to Japan in January. The package inside was open, and the hood was detached from the lens. No explanation why it has been returned. I have an impression that the package never left US. Perhaps it has been lost for half a year somewhere in Miami.

Anyway, suddenly I have Sigma to test on K-1. Here it is:
At f1.4 with and without hood.

Attached Images
   
07-12-2016, 12:50 PM   #2
Site Supporter
micromacro's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,015
Original Poster
At f8 with and without hood.

Vignetting increases with smaller aperture .
Attached Images
   
07-12-2016, 01:53 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Canada_Rockies's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sparwood, BC, Canada
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 9,316
I see that you have clearly discovered that the lens is only useful on APS-C!
07-12-2016, 01:58 PM   #4
Site Supporter
micromacro's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,015
Original Poster
I knew it , just did the test to see how usable it can be.
Not much.

07-12-2016, 03:08 PM   #5
Site Supporter
shaolen's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 765
that's a little better than the APS-C crop id say
07-12-2016, 03:28 PM   #6
Pentaxian
Digitalis's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Adelaide.
Posts: 8,649
QuoteOriginally posted by Canada_Rockies Quote
I see that you have clearly discovered that the lens is only useful on APS-C
I wouldn't even call it useful on APS-C..
07-12-2016, 03:46 PM   #7
Loyal Site Supporter
Canada_Rockies's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sparwood, BC, Canada
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 9,316
QuoteOriginally posted by Digitalis Quote
I wouldn't even call it useful on APS-C..
I have no Sigma lenses. I had one once. That was enough. Every lens I use is labeled Pentax (except my 55/1.8 Takumar). I know where you are coming from!

Many years ago, I read a comment from a professional photographer that the only reason one should buy a lens that is not made by the maker of your camera is when they don't make one, and you really, really need one.

My rig, using only Pentax equipment, goes from 12mm (DA 12-24) to 680 mm (M 400/5.6 + AFA 1.7X). That last one I am finding rather more useful with the higher ISO capabilities of the K-3, but I did get successful shots with the rig on a K10D A year ago. Would I like a 600/4? For sure, but would I want the weight? Hmmm.....
07-12-2016, 03:50 PM   #8
Site Supporter
micromacro's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,015
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Digitalis Quote
I wouldn't even call it useful on APS-C..
Hm...

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5 II s  Photo 
07-12-2016, 04:23 PM   #9
Pentaxian
MJSfoto1956's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,287
actually it seems it would make for a decent SQUARE 24Mp setup!

Michael

P.S. yes there is still a bit of vignetting even square but it is "usable" in a pinch

Last edited by MJSfoto1956; 07-12-2016 at 04:29 PM.
11-13-2016, 07:12 AM   #10
phs
Site Supporter




Join Date: Apr 2013
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 35
Hi. Is your copy the screw-drive version? How is the autofocus performance on the K-1? Any misfocus issues?
Thanks in advance.

QuoteOriginally posted by micromacro Quote
I've tried my first copy of Sigma 30mm f1.4 on K-1.
First, here is the story. I bought that lens on ebay back in December last year. It did not perform well on K5iis, so I returned it to the seller from Japan.
The seller has never received it, I just accepted my loss, and bought another copy (which I sold recently)

Today I received the package, lightly smashed. Yep, it was my lens I sent it to Japan in January. The package inside was open, and the hood was detached from the lens. No explanation why it has been returned. I have an impression that the package never left US. Perhaps it has been lost for half a year somewhere in Miami.

Anyway, suddenly I have Sigma to test on K-1. Here it is:
At f1.4 with and without hood.
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
dslr, f1.4, full frame, full-frame, hood, japan, k-1, k1, lens, package, pentax k-1, sigma, sigma 30mm f1.4
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - Sold: Sigma 24-70 DG EX 2.8 Macro / Pentax k-s2 / Sigma 30mm 1.4 DC EX/ Sigma 10-20 4-5.6 closhlab Sold Items 15 05-04-2016 10:41 PM
For Sale - Sold: Sigma 30mm f1.4 EX DC REDUCED Dean Bradshaw Sold Items 8 10-14-2014 05:33 PM
For Sale - Sold: Sigma 30mm F1.4 EX DC lewis44 Sold Items 3 08-25-2014 10:16 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:23 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top