Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-22-2016, 10:48 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

OOF images.. Scratching my head.

Hello,
I'm having an issue with finding that my photos are out of focus when using AF. Here are a few taken the other afternoon. IMGP9085 settings are ISO 800, f/7.1, 28mm 1/30sec. Image *9097 is the same but at f/5.6. Image stabilization was on and the camera was on a tripod. I've read several threads suggesting that I should have disabled IS. ARGH, But OK. Lesson learned, but seriously, should these images be this soft? Of course, I may have made them too small of jpgs to properly view here, but this is my first time uploading images so any help would be great. These probably will end up on some xmas card so I'm not too concerned, but if I had to blow these up, they really would be way too soft for me.

Any thoughts?
Rodney

Attached Images

11-22-2016, 10:55 AM   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

It's not possible to tell from these, unfortunately - they look fine at this size. Could you post some 100% crops of the areas you expect to be in focus? Also, which subject were you focusing on in each photo, and what was the distance between between you and the subjects?
11-22-2016, 11:33 AM   #3
Pentaxian

None of the subjects are in focus, nor anything behind them, so could be front focussing. Try taking a test shot of the trees using LV.
11-22-2016, 11:34 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It doesn't look sharp to me even with that small size image. Do you remember where is your focus point on those pictures? FYI, if you want everyone to be sharp, you have to focus on the person nearest to you. I also think that the photos are bit over-exposed. Yes, front focus (FF) problem can be problematic, meaning "nothing is in focus" if you focus on the nearest point to you. If so, try to correct with fine-adjustment feature on the camera.

11-22-2016, 12:15 PM   #5
Site Supporter