Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
01-24-2017, 11:51 AM   #1

K-1 EV in manual mode

I'm having some issues with underexposure in manual mode. I hand meter, do a custom WB with an expo disk and adjust my exposure to get the histogram spike to the middle. My meter and the histogram agree but my images (mostly portraits) are about 2/3 stop under exposed. This causes me to have to manually open my lens from about f/10 to f/8. I have tried using the +/- to compensate but it does not have any effect on my exposure. I've been a pro for 46 years so I do have some idea what I'm doing. I've tried finding a number to Ricoh/Pentax to discuss the matter but have been unsuccessful in that effort. Other than that I love the camera.

01-24-2017, 11:55 AM   #2
Man With A Camera
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: The Great Pacific Northwet, in the Land Between Canada and Mexico
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi Rick, welcome to Pentax Forums.

Try posting your question in the K-1 section. Lots of members there who have this great camera, willing to help.
01-24-2017, 01:18 PM - 1 Like   #3
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Moved to K-1 forum
01-24-2017, 01:26 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
The +/- function adjusts the camera's interpretation of metered scene brightness.

Changing the +/- setting will automatically change the exposure in P, Av, Tv, Sv, TAv because those modes are designed to use the meter reading to automatically set the exposure.