Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 43 Likes Search this Thread
07-21-2017, 07:45 AM - 2 Likes   #46
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by WPRESTO Quote
I'm a veteran Pentax user, starting with an Asahi Pentax S purchased before either the Nikon F or the Canonflex were released in the USA. I learned on, remain comfortable with, and greatly miss the all-microprism center spot. Switched my LX to such a screen very quickly, as I could not quite get used the split image circle. But, microprisms, like the split image wedge, don't work well when the aperture gets small. The deep downside of changing the screen of a DSLR: it can impact exposure accuracy, and may shut you out of some metering options.
Veteran Pentax user here too. I really miss the micro prism screen myself. A awesome focusing aid. Mastering auto-focus has been a bit of a challenge for me. I would love a K1 with an older full size viewfinder and no auto focus at all. Just those wonderful old focusing screens. I know it will never happen, but I can dream. In the meanwhile, I continue to learn to use the tools that I have.

07-21-2017, 11:42 PM   #47
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by skyer Quote
I'd like to know personal experience with the screens I mentioned above. Is it possible to get very accurate focusing with the S-type screen? Or maybe for very accurate focusing, it's still better to get a screen with a split image section?