Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-30-2017, 05:03 AM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Original Poster
Hey all,

Still waiting for the repair man to send my Joy back.

I called the repair shop yesterday and they said they are waiting for replacement parts from Pentax Japan, as it was the first time they had to change this type of pieces, Bayonet mounts.
The bill should be a little less than what I expected though, at about 700€ it's still a major catastrophe ...

I've got a photo trip scheduled for may 18th, Im crossing fingers to have my Camera in time.

04-30-2017, 05:49 AM - 1 Like   #17

So sorry to read this but surely everyone here with gear worth thousands insures it???? I used to work in insurance and for the relatively low cost it's so worth it... Adding cameras to a household policy as unspecified items is absolutely the right thing to do. If shooting professionally you should have professional insirances too.

If you get mugged and a K1 and 3-4 lenses are taken you could be looking at a £8000 bill - very easily!! Me I'd rather add £50 a year to my house insurance.

Hope you get it sorted.

Jon
05-01-2017, 01:56 AM   #18
Veteran Member

I fell to sea in January with K-1 and 15-30 (3rd time I managed to destroy my gear). Sure, insurance worked as it should but it is always as shocking when it happens. Just keep shooting when you get the gear fixed, it helps to forget the episode.
05-01-2017, 08:24 AM - 1 Like   #19
Veteran Member

Hi DimC,
I feel so sorry for you. It happened to me in 1986 with my Nikon F-801. One of my friend borrowed me it for fun and let it fall... I was upset but the repair for the cover was not to expensive at this time. Two years ago, I came back to Indonesia after 35 years of absence. One of my two EOS 6D fell down and the cover (again) broke. It cost me 250 euros to replace it in France. I hope you can get some fun again with your stuff. See you soon...
best regards.