Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
04-28-2017, 08:28 AM   #1

K-1 and digiscoping, anyone with experience?

Hi,

I'm thinking about digiscoping with my K-1. I have no experience of digiscoping and only little experience of spottingscopes. Has anyone tried it with the lovely but heavy K-1. I think the set has to be very stable for the weight and for the amount of pixels. The glass needs to be good too I believe, if the pictures are to going to do the camera justice. Advices please!

04-28-2017, 09:01 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Will you be using the spotting scopes eyepiece i.e. afocally or a T-mount? I often shoot afocally with a mounted binocular or spotting scope. You can use two tripods. One for the scope and a second for the camera. Weight is not an issue unless you use a T-mount. FWIW the limited DA 40 or one of the manual 40 mm pancakes are ideal for afocal.
04-28-2017, 09:32 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Can you tell more about what exactly you want to achieve?
I've seen people reversing lenses, using cardboard tubes as extensions, mounting a lens on top of another lens.. all kinds of things to get that sweet, sweet magnification. If you are planning on using an actual microscope, it comes down to what kind of microscope you have access to.
If you are planning on using regular lenses and stacking or extending or reversing them, then it depends on which lenses you have.

First collect gear. After getting or making accessories that let you connect your gear, lights will be the next problem. The plan will depend on what you want to achieve, how much oyu want to spend, and what gear you already have
For example, you can get pretty high magnification by mounting a Helios 44 on the end of a DFA 100mm macro. If you have both of those lenses, you save lots of money by just making some sort of connection between them.