Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
06-23-2017, 04:01 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Question about HDR shots

I'm a new K-1 owner and want to prepare for the upcoming August 21st solar eclipse. One thing I would like to do is some HDR shots at totality. My understanding is that when HDR is dialed in (any one of the variations), three shots are taken and those original three will be available in the DNG file (without modification from the originals although a JPEG showing the HDR effect will be processed).

I'm also new to RAWTherapee which I understand can pull those three original bracketed shots out of the resulting DNG. Can someone explain what needs to be done in RAWTherapee after the DNG file is opened to see and use the three shots (and resave them individually)?

Ordinarily, I would just use bracketing but that takes three separate shots (not in the same file) and having the three shots containerized seems a better way to go. Also, using the K-1's ability to show an HDR after it's shot, allows some idea of what it might look like when processed.

Lastly, I know most of you use Photoshop or Lightroom for HDR work, but can someone suggest a good freeware HDR program if such exists (or something low cost that works well)?

I'd like to start experimenting now to practice before the eclipse gets here and develop a good technique by that time.

Many thanks.

Last edited by Bob 256; 06-23-2017 at 04:08 PM.
06-23-2017, 05:03 PM   #2
amateur dirt farmer
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I use HDR Efex Pro 2, which is part of the Nik Collection - and the entire suite of applications is free, thanks to Google...
06-23-2017, 05:18 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter