Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
09-07-2017, 04:53 PM   #1

To K-1 or not to K-1

I have been using this forum for for many months, learning and growing. I'm in a bind. I purchased the K-S2 back in March to see how I would like photography and if I should be taking it seriously. Well I love photography and I am taking it seriously. Started with random shots that led to competitions that led to other opportunities that led to paid opportunities. On my own I love using the old primes and for the paid gigs like weddings I am using the kit lens, 85mm, 50mm, 135mm and 200mm. The kit lens has to go so that is issue number 1. I only started using it for weddings for the wide range. I get good shots, but I know there is more to be desired. I get quality out of the K-S2 with the primes, how much difference would I see with the K-1? If not the K-1 right this second what spectacular lens is out there that I should replace the kit lens with. Is the new 28-105 or 24-70 better than what has come out in the past? Or is it just desired for the full frame? Lots of questions, I'm still learning all the ins and outs. Thank you all.

09-07-2017, 05:33 PM - 1 Like   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Better glass and technique is the way to go, StarkRavingMad, along with anything that will improve the quality of light in your images - flash and diffusers like a softbox or beauty dish, for instance.

I can suggest the Sigma 17-50mm f2.8 as one candidate to replace your kit lens.

For extra width, you can add the DA 12-24 to your arsental, too.
09-07-2017, 05:33 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
To keep things simple, yes the new zooms blow the old FF ones out of the water. FF opens up a lot of possibilities but the question is what, if anything, is holding you back other than the kit lens, which you could simply replace.