Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 18 Likes Search this Thread
12-20-2017, 09:56 AM   #76
Veteran Member

<<That depends on the lighting conditions. "Normally" I use PDAF AF-S (Single Sel) f7.1-11 and if possible/necessary a beanbag or tripod.>>

I was hoping for somewhat more detail so I'll describe my method of focusing with landscape shots which results in an almost zero frequency of out of focus images. By doing this I'm in no way implying that I'm a superior photographer or that your focusing method is wrong. This is simply what works for me for landscapes when there is no hurry so I'm passing it along. I always use a tripod.

AF-S
F5.6 - 11
Focusing when shutter button depressed half way turned off - this is very important.
Through viewfinder:
Single focus point placed on a point in the image where as much of the image as possible will be in focus.
BBF - push the AF button until the green indicator light come on, indicating focus at the focus point. If it's a manual lens rotate the
focusing ring until the in-focus light comes on. If I shoot at that point in the process, using the VF, I lock up the mirror but I usually
proceed to LV.)
Switch to LV and use focus peaking to determine where the image is in focus and where it isn't. I find focus peaking invaluable for
landscapes. Turn on ES if not already on.
Shoot (I use a remote shutter release)

(I tried to indent the above to make it more readable but it wasn't allowed, everything being moved to the left margin)