Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 23 Likes Search this Thread
04-03-2018, 09:04 AM   #16

Photos: Gallery
this looks very promising! can't wait to confirm this in a couple of days as I eagerly await my camera

04-03-2018, 09:21 AM   #17
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Erictator Quote
Hmmm... They did not seem to address the touted improvement of color accuracy in the review... and it would be interesting to know if the MkII is improved in that and if so, how.
Eric
I did look only that translated text...and they did say thaat Focusing is now better(Mark II is back in saddle). Ricoh has said also in their official announcement that their engineers have honed up AF accuracy and speed, and as I can recall, prone to focus to background(this is big thing in my book). It coud be that it is also coming in next Firmware upgrade in K-1 original. But that improved ISO looks to me something that I could use. I'm not that good with programs, when it comes in reducing noise(lasy 'n not patient enough).
04-03-2018, 09:57 AM   #18
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by CNunez Quote
this looks very promising! can't wait to confirm this in a couple of days as I eagerly await my camera
Looking forward to your impressions.
04-03-2018, 10:01 AM - 1 Like   #19
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Rewritten autofocus logic

According to their source at Ricoh, the autofocus implementation was redone from zero. For a long time, since K10D, Pentax didn't commit but to minor AF improvements. Even on K1 the autofocus algorithms were still based on the original K-10D implementation. Which boasted the SAFOX something, a term that harks back to the film era and PZ-1p. Pentax Klub's test concludes there's faster reactivity and better predictability.
This sounds very promising, I will likely send in my trusty K-1 for more than a face lift.

04-03-2018, 10:06 AM   #20
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter