Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
11-04-2018, 05:36 PM   #1

Vibration reduction in mirror Lock-up vs. Live View on a K-1 Mark ii

I am new to the K-1 Mark ii. When one wants to maximally control camera vibrations upon exposure (on a tripod), how does one choose between the following: (A) the mirror Lock-up function with the electronic shutter, which will cause less vibration than the mechanical shutter, but Shake Reduction (SR) necessarily off, or (B) Live View with electronic shutter on but Shake Reduction off, or (C) Live View with the mechanical shutter and partial Shake Reduction (SR) on (“Auto SR Off” disabled in menu C3_21 for the infrared remote)? The manual p. 52 says one cannot have both the electronic shutter and Shake Reduction on.

The web page <http://www.ricoh-imaging.co.jp/english/products/k-1-2/feature/03.html> and <http://www.ricoh-imaging.co.jp/english/support/pdf/k-1-2.pdf> say that
"The new-generation SR II (Shake Reduction II) features a
five-axis mechanism to compensate for camera shake caused by
horizontal and vertical shift* (often generated in macro
photography) and camera shake caused by roll, which is difficult to
handle by lens-installed shake reduction mechanisms, in addition to
more common camera shake caused by pitch and yaw.

*During Live View shooting, this mechanism does not compensate
for camera shake caused by horizontally and vertical shift."

Option (C) has the disadvantage that only three of five Shake Reduction modes are available, but perhaps pitch and yaw SR correct somewhat for linear vertical and horizontal movement, assuming pitch is movement along a very short horizontal arc of a circle, and yaw, a short vertical arc. Has this been your experience?