Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-01-2019, 06:28 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Tethering with Lightroom

The tethering support works well enough for Pentax, but I would like to get round this problem. Please note I only use LR for tethering so I've little experience using/configuring it - I'm an old school ACR to Photoshop sort of photographer.

I would like to have two SDs cards installed on a K-1, but for LR to transfer from only one slot. (My default set-up is to write to both cards (ie duplicate) in the camera)

I can take one card out of the camera and set it to use just one slot and LR uploads just from this slot which is fine. But, I have a dodgy slot one spring, so I tend to use only slot 2 for uploading photos, leaving slot one card in place all the time.

The problem with LR transferring from both slots is time. If I'm shooting a subject we can view the images as they come across. The transfer is slow, but OK, for one card's worth of data. With two card's data, this takes up too long - OK if I'm on my own, but not when I'm working with someone else. So I'm a bit stuck.

Any ideas, please.

Thanks

11-01-2019, 10:36 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Interesting - I'm tuning in to see the answers as I'm a LR noob as well, but the idea of tethering intrigues me. I'd love to be able to tether as well. From what I've read, the slowness is largely due to the limiting speed of USB-2 which is on the K-1. I'd love to see what other folks have to say on this topic. Best of luck!
11-01-2019, 12:18 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Reality_Check Quote