Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-20-2020, 08:31 PM   #1

AF on K-1 and K-3?

I just got a K-1 and K-3 and love most everything about them except, the AF. I'm using the 55mm 1.4, and older Tamron 90mm 2.8 macro the 70mm 2.4 and an 18-50 Sigma 2.8 for now. I seem to be missing focus on some pics and not really sharp and they are pretty slow to focus. Is it the lenses or is Pentax AF really this bad? Do I need the new Pentax lenses for decent, accurate AF? I dumped most of my Sony E gear because I hate everything about Sony BUT the AF. Any insight would be greatly appreciated, I'm not a newbie photog so it's not technique, meaning I had a focus point right on a persons eye. I'm really surprised at how slow focus is in good light

02-20-2020, 08:41 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
may be you need to make focus fine adjustments for the specific lens
02-20-2020, 09:26 PM - 1 Like   #3
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by ddinmpls Quote
I'm using the 55mm 1.4, and older Tamron 90mm 2.8 macro the 70mm 2.4 and an 18-50 Sigma 2.8 for now....
I dumped most of my Sony E gear because I hate everything about Sony BUT the AF. ...
I think we have users shoot both Pentax and Sony mirrorless here. You should get more satisfy answer (than my answer) soon.

I am using a K3 and I have the 55 1.4 (if you mean DA*55). It is one of the best auto-focus lens on my K3 (in term of accuracy not the speed) when shoot at night. Its f1.4 helps on accuracy but the lens slow auto focus is a well know issue.
I have shot with many Sony shooters, mostly a7 II and III at night. Their Auto focus leave me (K3 + DA*55) in the dust. I hope you don’t expect K3+55* to be anywhere close to what you used to have with Sony. When I want to use auto focus at night, using face detection or tracking in combination with Live view can help a lot.
02-20-2020, 09:29 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter