Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-28-2020, 10:05 PM   #1

Appropriate macro and zoom lens for K1 given FA 43/1.9 LTD

Hello,

I bought a K1 a couple of years ago with an FA 43 1.9 limited lens to shoot documentation in my studio. I'm an artist and that was what I needed at the time because I do quite large prints. I love the lens quality but my studio is pretty small so it becomes difficult to shoot certain things because of the lack of lenses. Now, I'm certainly no great photographer - I'm a sculptor - but I am at a point where I need to use the camera for a few more things and am wondering about what lenses to purchase. I have some objects that need photographing that are small - 4" to 12" across, so I believe a good macro would help, but I also want a lens for travel and portrait work, that can get wider than the FA 43. Would forum members recommend the Pentax D FA 28-105mm F3.5-5.6ED DC WR lens? Or would the Pentax HD D FA 24-70mm F2.8 ED SDM WR with a dedicated macro be better? I know the latter is three times the price of the former, but I would rather put the money into it once if that makes sense. In the case of the 24-70, would the Pentax D FA MACRO 100mm F2.8 WR be the right choice?

10-28-2020, 11:23 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Summary: I think the 28-105 will cover you for closeups of 4" sculptures and travel. Your FA 43 can still be used if you want a very thin depth of field portrait. The money not spent on the 24-70 can be set aside for a true 1:1 macro if you test the 28-105 and sometimes need even more magnification.

The FA 43 is especially bad for macro because it has a large minimum focus distance. Minimum focus distance combined with focal length determines how much magnification you can get.

The K-1 sensor is 24mm tall, just under 1". With a true 1:1 macro a 1" subject can fill the height of a photo. If your smallest subject is 4" then you might only need 1:4 or 0.25x magnification.