Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 19 Likes Search this Thread
02-26-2021, 07:26 PM - 1 Like   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Should I get the D-BG6 Battery Grip when I buy a K-1 Mark II?

I think I'm finally going to take a plunge and get the full frame K-1 Mark II. I've been shooting with Pentax for over 50 years (Spotmatic in 1970), have a dozen different film Pentax bodies and lenses to go with them, a K-70 which I really enjoy using, and a 645n also. I'll get the body with the D-FA 28-90 (after a recent discussion here where everyone convinced me it is a great lens). So, my final question is, should I get the grip as well? I really like using the battery grips with my MZ-S, and the little grips with my ZX-L and ZX-5n. I recently got the "grip strap" attachment for my Z-1p, and that improves the ergonomics of that camera though it has no batteries.

The K-1 is bigger, of course, than my K-70 (which offers no grip), so perhaps the body doesn't need an extra grip? Some folks say "well I have large hands and I appreciate the larger hand-hold with the grip" but that is not particularly the case for me, I'm more average sized (5 ft 9"). However, with the MZ-S I find that camera is much easier to hold with the grip.

Also how is the Li-ion battery life on the K-1? I probably should buy a second battery, no?

Thanks - Richard.

02-26-2021, 07:30 PM - 1 Like   #2
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteQuote:
Description:
Weather-sealed battery grip for the Pentax K-1. Includes a tray that can hold a second D-Li90 battery as well as tray that can hold 6 AA batteries.

Read more at: https://www.pentaxforums.com/accessoryreviews/pentax-battery-grip-d-bg6-for-...#ixzz6ndRWAsgr

are you buying new equipment

if so, what is the return policy

make sure you read all of the " fine print "

extra batteries are always good

QuoteQuote: