Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-05-2017, 05:37 PM   #1

K-70 User Problem with SMC Pentax F 4.5 - 5.6 100-300 mm lens

I'm embarrassed to ask, but obviously, not too embarrassed.

I'm new to the K-70. I bought a used SMC Pentax-F zoom lens. I used it with the auto timer to take a few test shots of the gibbous moon. Suddenly, the camera and lens began having an argument and what shows up on the live view is the F - - blinking, no matter what ISO setting I have it at. I can't take manual or auto timed shots. If I put in the 18-135 lens that came with the camera, it works great. When I switch out to the 100-300 mm zoom, nothing happens but a lot of blinking.

I'm hoping the solution is obvious. If it is, please share.

I'll watch the thread to answer questions as fast as I can.

Thank you kindly.

07-05-2017, 05:49 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sounds like the contacts on the lens need cleaning - personally (and others will disagree ) I use a pencil eraser to gently go over the contacts - just be careful not to have any eraser bits go inside the lens. Good luck.
07-05-2017, 05:56 PM - 1 Like   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

ChipB is correct. The contacts are dirty. I've had the best luck with a cotton swab and rubbing alcohol. Just don't soak it, you don't want alcohol inside the lens.
07-05-2017, 06:18 PM - 1 Like   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

QuoteOriginally posted by Roger Dier Quote
I'm embarrassed to ask, but obviously, not too embarrassed.