Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-04-2020, 07:00 AM   #1

Convert SDM to screw drive for K-70?

Hi all,
in March I purchased a second hand DA*16-50mm. When I received the packaged there was written that the lens was repaired in the past (I guess for the SDM fail) and then hardly used. Now I have been using it for a few months and the AF still works fine. However just in case for the future I wanted to see if it could be possible to convert the AF from SDM to screw drive. I have read and there are videos on youtube on how to do it but it seems that it is possible only for the older Pentax or the K1.

Are you aware if someone managed to do it with the K70?

Thanks

Pierangelo

06-04-2020, 09:11 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There is a user here @unclevanya that has in the past done the conversion. I do not think it can be done on a K-70 but UncleVanya can tell you for sure if that is possible and if not you can discuss converting.
06-04-2020, 10:07 AM   #3

You need to enable the debug mode on the camera. I think the last bodies that people were able to figure out how to do this were the K-5 series.
06-04-2020, 10:40 AM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by jatrax Quote
There is a user here @unclevanya that has in the past done the conversion. I do not think it can be done on a K-70 but UncleVanya can tell you for sure if that is possible and if not you can discuss converting.
I believe @UncleVanya also offers this as a service for a reasonable cost.

Steve

06-04-2020, 11:29 AM   #5

Original Poster
In the meanwhile thank you for your replies
06-04-2020, 11:58 AM   #6
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Post some photos! This is an enthusiasts' forum. We love to see people's photos.