Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-04-2023, 02:51 PM   #1

Highlight alert vs histogram

As a beginner, I am still struggling to set the correct exposure parameters on my K-70 camera. I'm using highlight alert in live view to identify the parts of the image that will be overexposed, then I'm using exposure compensation until the blinking red areas are almost gone. At the same time, I check the histogram to see the effects of the compensation. While doing this I noticed that when the blinking red areas are gone, the histogram is way to the left and pictures are often underexposed.
My first question is which one of them would be the best to guide me. I'm looking at this more like some sort of hand holding until I get more experience.
Second question is about a thin vertical red line at the right side of the histogram that is displayed in some cases when the histogram barely touches the margin of its window. Is the camera trying to warn me of something or is it something wrong with the display ?

11-04-2023, 03:20 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Best you post a couple of images which demonstrate the issue.

QuoteOriginally posted by nilie Quote
Second question is about a thin vertical red line at the right side of the histogram that is displayed in some cases when the histogram barely touches the margin of its window. Is the camera trying to warn me of something or is it something wrong with the display ?
That indicates that you have blown the highlights. In very high contrast scenes that is something which is difficult to avoid. Again post an example and you will get better guidance.
11-04-2023, 03:36 PM   #3
Pentaxian

The choice of Custom Image can affect the degree of "blown highlights", that is to say the default "Bright" can cause more problems than "Natural".