Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
07-07-2017, 09:55 PM   #1

How useful is K-70 flip screen?

How useful is the flip screen in actual use? I've never had a camera with one but I think I "need" this feature. On the other hand, my history is that I tend to obsess over features like this in my gear, I spend too much to get it, then I end up never using it.

I'm looking to acquire a new DSLR and I can get a K-3 at a local shop (want the onboard flash, so no K-3 II) for much less than a new K-70 and that's one of the few differences that bother me now that the K-3 got the firmware upgrade to utilize newer lenses. (The other issue is size & weight). Either one is going to be overkill for my skill level anyway :-)

I'm not a pro, and while I understand why you might want such a screen and honestly, there are times where I've thought it would be much better if I had a flippy screen. However, with digital, I can also just fire off a ton of shots and hope a couple of them turn out since I'm not relying on it to make a living. Is this one of those things that people really cannot live without once they've tried it?

There won't be any studio shooting, very little telephoto or tripod, probably not a lot of video, mostly just street & travel stills, but often out in the semi-wilderness.

07-07-2017, 10:22 PM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The adjustable screen is especially nice if you're shooting in a crowd (i.e. holding the camera above your head), doing macros (so you don't have to crouch down to see the VF/screen), and selfies. It's certainly beneficial to have in those situations, as you won't have to awkwardly position yourself to see live view.