Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-26-2017, 01:17 PM   #1
Junior Member
MacLoz's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Malaga
Posts: 34
K-70 compatibility with Sigma's 150-500mm F5-6.3 APO DG HSM

Tonight I was trying to shot the Moon with the Sigma 150-500 and K-70.
However, after reviewing everything I could imagine, it was impossible to do anything: K-70 was completely blocked. Even the LCD display remained ON after switching Off the K-70.

To check K-70, I mounted Pentax 55-300 PLM and there was no problem at all.

To check whether Sigma's 150-500 had any trouble, I mounted it on the K-5 and it worked fine in different setting conditions.

Few days ago, I was using Sigma 10-20mm F3.5 EX DC HSM on K-70 without any problem, so it seems that HSM is/was not a problem

Does anybody know about any incompatiblity between K-70 and Sigma's 150-500 ?

Anticipated thanks


Last edited by MacLoz; 09-27-2017 at 09:32 AM.
09-26-2017, 01:41 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster
Adam's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arizona
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 47,779
The lens should work, though it is not uncommon for older Sigma lenses to cause newer cameras to freeze, particularly in live view. You may want to contact Sigma for them to perform a firmware update for the lens.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)



PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

09-27-2017, 09:37 AM   #3
Junior Member
MacLoz's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Malaga
Posts: 34
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
The lens should work, though it is not uncommon for older Sigma lenses to cause newer cameras to freeze, particularly in live view. You may want to contact Sigma for them to perform a firmware update for the lens.
Thank you, Adam
I will follow your suggestion: I will contact Ricoh, requesting them to include Sigma's 150-500mm F5-6.3 APO DG HSM in a next K-70 firmware update.
09-27-2017, 12:12 PM   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster
Adam's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arizona
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 47,779
QuoteOriginally posted by MacLoz Quote
Thank you, Adam
I will follow your suggestion: I will contact Ricoh, requesting them to include Sigma's 150-500mm F5-6.3 APO DG HSM in a next K-70 firmware update.
I'm not sure they will do anything, but who knows.

Anyway, you should contact Sigma, as you can send the lens to them for a forward update. A lot of users have had success with this


Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)



PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

09-27-2017, 02:39 PM   #5
Junior Member
MacLoz's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Malaga
Posts: 34
Original Poster
I doubt that Sigma Europe would care about such a particular case concerning an old product out of current catalog...

Perhaps Ricoh has the problem not only with Sigma's 150-500, but also with other "competitor's" lenses, and not only with the new K-70, but also with the new KP...

For me, it is clear that K-5 still works perfectly with the 150-500. But it is also true that the "old glory" K-5 had quite a few firmware updates and the promising K-70 just two: the very short running v 1.10, and the the very recent one v 1.11...

Does Ricoh know about this incompatibility ? Is it a pending subject or just a missing detail among others more relevant ?

in any case, I'm afraid it will take a little long to be solved. Fortunately, I still love my K-5.
09-27-2017, 02:51 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter
clackers's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Melbourne
Photos: Albums
Posts: 11,642
QuoteOriginally posted by MacLoz Quote
I doubt that Sigma Europe would care about such a particular case concerning an old product out of current catalog...

Perhaps Ricoh has the problem not only with Sigma's 150-500, but also with other "competitor's" lenses, and not only with the new K-70, but also with the new KP...

For me, it is clear that K-5 still works perfectly with the 150-500. But it is also true that the "old glory" K-5 had quite a few firmware updates and the promising K-70 just two: the very short running v 1.10, and the the very recent one v 1.11...

Does Ricoh know about this incompatibility ? Is it a pending subject or just a missing detail among others more relevant ?

in any case, I'm afraid it will take a little long to be solved. Fortunately, I still love my K-5.
As Adam says, MacLoz, you should contact Sigma, since camera manufacturers don't care about third party lenses.

Sigma did fix my 150-450 and 35mm Art for the K-1 mount problem.
09-28-2017, 09:26 AM   #7
Junior Member
MacLoz's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Malaga
Posts: 34
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by clackers Quote
As Adam says, MacLoz, you should contact Sigma, since camera manufacturers don't care about third party lenses.

Sigma did fix my 150-450 and 35mm Art for the K-1 mount problem.
OK, Adam, OK clackers, I will follow your recommendations with Sigma Europe.
Maybe your experience is stronger than my expectations.
Sincerely, thanks
11-22-2018, 10:06 PM   #8
New Member




Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Hey! I am having the exact same issue with the exact same lens and camera body, wondering if sending it in for a firmware update did the trick or if I am doomed to buy a new lens.
I have updated the camera body as of this date November 22 2018 with v1.11 and there is no new update.

11-22-2018, 10:09 PM   #9
Administrator
Site Webmaster
Adam's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arizona
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 47,779
QuoteOriginally posted by StevieQ102 Quote
Hey! I am having the exact same issue with the exact same lens and camera body, wondering if sending it in for a firmware update did the trick or if I am doomed to buy a new lens.
I have updated the camera body as of this date November 22 2018 with v1.11 and there is no new update.
Sigma should be able to update the lens firmware for you. You'd have to send it in, but I don't think there's a charge for the service itself.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)



PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

11-22-2018, 10:11 PM   #10
New Member




Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Ok, thankyou for the advice and quick response!
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
150-500mm f5-6.3 apo, apo dg os, f5-6.3 apo dg, hsm, k-70, k-70 compatibility, k70, pentax k-70, sigma
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - Sold: Sigma 150-500mm F5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM Sigmund Sold Items 5 09-18-2016 05:03 PM
For Sale - Sold: Sigma 150-500mm F5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM mwilky55 Sold Items 4 06-09-2016 06:44 AM
For Sale - Sold: Sigma 150-500mm F5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM for PENTAX 150-500 transam879 Sold Items 3 03-24-2014 05:02 AM
Lens Profile Sigma 150-500mm F5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM RockvilleBob Troubleshooting and Beginner Help 3 01-05-2013 08:25 AM
Sigma - 70-200/2.8 EX DG OS APO HSM IF **** VS ****70-200/2.8 EX DG II APO Macro HSM lightningthief Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 13 10-19-2012 01:46 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top