Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-26-2019, 06:15 PM   #1

Pixle Shift Usage

I've had my K70 for 7 months now and absolutely love it. Coming from a K50 that suffered aperture failure (which I have since repaired and now use as a second body), I am still learning the new features of the K70. Concerning pixle shift, I understand what it does and how it works. What I'm having difficulty with is understanding when and/or why I should use it (or not use it), I have experimented with it in several different situations and seen very mixed results with no discernible patterns or consistency apparent. I will appreciate any comment, suggestion, advice, or guidance anyone wishes to offer.

03-26-2019, 06:34 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
This review, along with the article it links to, gives a pretty good overview of the top use cases for pixel shift:
Pentax K-1 Review - Super Resolution and AA Filter | PentaxForums.com Reviews

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

03-26-2019, 08:37 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I've used it a few times. Not exactly top of my requirements for street or even landscape photography.
03-27-2019, 02:49 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

For me, it is something that I use when shooting macro of still objects or landscapes when on a tripod (of a fairly static scene) to add some resolution, color depth and decrease noise in an image. What I see is that pixel shifted images can have shadows bumped a lot more without showing noise and artifacts than images without pixel shift.