Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-24-2019, 02:37 PM - 12 Likes   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Saying goodbye to the K-70

No, it's NOT what you think. I have been using the K-70 for about 30 months now and I dearly loved it and still do but it got ripped out of my hands, STOLEN by my own daughter! She has been shooting a K-3 with grip for a number of years and got a little frustrated with high-ISO performance and slow focus under low light. I'm just a poor amateur but she is an aspiring young photographer who does predominantly pop/rock concerts, intimate portraits under bad lighting conditions etc.

She always thought my K-70 was a bit "plastic fantastic" (her words entirely) and with it she wouldn't be taken seriously by her patrons. Last week she yielded and took the K-70 - MY K-70 - with her to an evening-long concert as a second camera. She came home with 100 K-3 shots and 1200 K-70 exposures! The K-70 exposures were so much cleaner even at ISO6400 (and up to ISO10K even) that she spent about a quarter of the time post processing them. The focus on 30% of the K-3 was off. All 1200 exposures on the K-70 were spot-on sharp.

She then turned her 24-year old cash-starved eyes on her old poor dad and said "what would you do if I wanted to use your camera more often" and I fell for it, lock, stock and barrel. I said I'd have to look around for something else - what would a good father do otherwise in such a situation?

So, to cut a long story short, my KP will be delivered this Saturday. I would have bought the K-70 again but the price difference in a local Xmas sale came down to only €200 and I'm dedicated to APS-C and want small & light in my travel bag (an age thing maybe?) - so for only €669 the KP was just too good to pass up.

Absolutely thrilled even though I've been robbed cold...

12-24-2019, 03:01 PM   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter