Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-26-2020, 01:05 AM   #1

IR Filter for the K-70/18-135mm?

I'm new at serious photography, and I find I have a strong urge to explore infrared at the moment. I would appreciate suggestions for IR filters for my camera/lens combo, as well as any advice for a n00b getting into infrared photography.

Thanks.

07-26-2020, 02:20 AM   #2
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by CoolBreezeRandy Quote
I'm new at serious photography, and I find I have a strong urge to explore infrared at the moment. I would appreciate suggestions for IR filters for my camera/lens combo, as well as any advice for a n00b getting into infrared photography.

Thanks.
One never likes to be the bearer of bad tidings, but to paraphrase whoever ... "if I wanted to go there I wouldn't start from here"

As capable as the K-70 is, one characteristic of (probably) all modern digital cameras is the lack of sensitivity to infra-red light, due to efficient internal filtering.
The best you can hope for is to use a very dark red filter, R72, Wratten 89B, Ilford SFX or similar, and be prepared for an amount of adjustment in software.
Take a white-balance reading through the filter, ideally of an area of sunlit green grass, but a grey card or even a sheet of white paper, in sunlight, will suffice.
You'll probably need a tripod, exposure times are likely to be long.

All the above assumes monochrome imaging, I've no experience with false-colour work.

If you "get into" the concept, an investment in a more suitable body might be considered. The older CCD-sensor 6 and 10 megapixel bodies have greater infra-red sensitivity than the newer CMOS-sensor cameras. I have particular success with my *ist DL2 (unmodified).

Good luck

Last edited by kypfer; 07-26-2020 at 02:30 AM.
07-26-2020, 07:16 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery