Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-11-2021, 08:22 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Peak Focusing in LV

Hi everyone,

I'm still learning this camera, as i just purchased it a few weeks ago. I'm still trying to figure out if when using liveview, and then hitting the "OK" button to zoom in on an area to focus, can you get the focus to stay on that spot (while in AF). Seems like once you go back to the regular view and hit the button to take the photo, the camera re-focusses. Maybe this can only be done in Manual Focus?

TIA!

01-11-2021, 09:18 PM - 3 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by 87Duckfan Quote
Hi everyone,

I'm still learning this camera, as i just purchased it a few weeks ago. I'm still trying to figure out if when using liveview, and then hitting the "OK" button to zoom in on an area to focus, can you get the focus to stay on that spot (while in AF). Seems like once you go back to the regular view and hit the button to take the photo, the camera re-focusses. Maybe this can only be done in Manual Focus?

TIA!
If you are using shutter release button to autofocus, once you have taken your finger off the half press, it will refocus when you press it again. That's one of the reasons so many people use back button focusing. I don't use the zoom magnification with autofocus, that's normally a tool for manual focus.

So if you set your camera up for back button focusing, your shutter button won't have to be dual purpose and it won't refocus when you don't want it to.

Last edited by ramseybuckeye; 01-11-2021 at 09:23 PM.
01-11-2021, 09:31 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by ramseybuckeye Quote