Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-17-2022, 01:37 PM   #1

Exposure Compensation Confusion

Ok, so I read many articles about Exposure Compensation. I searched for the topic on the forum. I found some old topics. Therefore I'm starting a new one instead of opening the really old one.

1st, don't laugh please! It's my first DSLR, I'm new in this world and I'm a self-taught.

Here we go. I setup my new K70. I don't want to use Auto mode or Scenery one. I have iPhone's camera for this. My DSLR should give me a fun when using it.
So, I decided to use TAv mode. I love changing aperture and shutter speed to meet my requirements. And I let the camera handle ISO. Thank you so much Pentax for giving us TAv. I read a lot about Exposure Compensation. And now I'm so confused

When I'm in TAv mode and I change Exposure Compensation for minus or for plus, I can see that it changes aperture or shutter speed or those both values. In Tv or Av it changes one of those parameteres. So my big question is: why should I use that "-/+" button to change EV stops when I just can set shutter speed and/or aperture manually to get desired image and histogram? If I set aperture and shutter speed to get proper exposure, is it necessary to use Exposure Compernsation at all? I take a picture, look at histogram. If I want to make changes, I change shutter speed or aperture, also trying to get the lowest possible ISO. All of that to make sure my photo is properly exposed. So why should I use Exposure Compensation feature?

Ok, have you stopped laughing? Can you explain it to me? Maybe there is a hidden extra feature that I just don't get?

02-17-2022, 01:53 PM   #2
Veteran Member