Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
06-04-2017, 05:00 PM - 1 Like   #1

FF lenses needed

I've used pentax for a long time I still have my early Spotmatic F camera. I use my cameras professionally and have always found Pentax cameras to be as good as any other but at different periods using Pentax has been frustrating because the accessories haven't been available and that is just as true now as ever it was. Most of the lenses I want were available but no longer, even as used. It is nice that Pentax has added the newer SDM lenses but they are big, heavy and expensive.

I'm a nature photographer and carry my gear on my back, therefore weight is a determing factor. Toward the end of the film era Pentax had the lightest lens and cameras on the market Nikon and Canon were rediculosly heavy , so even though Pentax offerings were limited that was reason enough to continue with the brand.

After my K10D and K5, I purchased the Pentax K1 and am really enjoying it. It works great with my 28-105, and my Fa*400 but I'm again frustrated because I am after a wider angle lens like the 15-30 mm but it's way to big and heavy to add to my kit, and used 17 - 28 which would be fine are gone, very hard to find or over the top in cost.

While Pentax has 2 telephotos that appear to be outstanding my old 400mm is lighter and still gives exceptional results. Also, I find it hard to understand why I can't get a teleconverter or extension tubes for their full frame camera. To me these are obvious accessories that should have been a top priority when the FF camera was in the planning stages.

All that is to say I want to see a lighter wide angle lens, teleconverter and extension tubes for the K1 in the near future.

Garry

06-05-2017, 09:33 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Garry Conway Quote
It is nice that Pentax has added the newer SDM lenses but they are big, heavy and expensive.