Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-16-2017, 09:48 AM - 9 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

AF-C Examples with KP (pic heavy thread)

I took the KP out to the local pond to see how it handles continuous autofocus.
I was hindered by 2 facts:
1) I am not very good at this type of shooting. I just don't do it very often.
2) I was using the HD 55-300mm. Not the new PLM one which is supposedly fast. This lens is very "pedestrian" (putting it mildly) when it comes to AF performance. If I were to do this more often, I would definitely step up to the 150-450 or the 70-200.

Having said that, it actually worked out pretty well In fact, I think it tracks better than both my K-1 and K-3II.
I used Sel 9, Focus Priority, Hold Medium.
As you can see below, the camera held up pretty well. I missed critical focus on the eye in some instances, but I think that is more technique on my part and lens selection.

03-16-2017, 09:55 AM   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

I think you did an excellent job! Those look very good to me
03-16-2017, 10:30 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Certainly better than I've ever done--I might have to take AF-C for a spin myself.
03-16-2017, 01:47 PM   #4
Veteran Member