Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-20-2017, 04:52 AM   #1

Best colour settings for the KP?

As I'm a new Pentax user I have no experience whatsoever with the most suitable colour settings in a Pentax camera. I shoot in RAW and of course this means I can modify the files afterwards to my liking, but I'm still wondering what settings are the best to give natural looking results. Many thanks! All advice is more then welcome!

06-20-2017, 04:58 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Which software do you use?

a) set colour space in the camera to the same as used in software. ProRGB or sRGB or whichever. sRGB might be the most limited, but the differences are very very nuanced (many monitors can't show the difference). The real problem is converting from one color space to another; this can sometimes degrade quality/colours. For web use, sRGB is best choice. You can have everything set to sRGB throughout, or you can have the software convert to sRGB upon export when you need images for web. Most photo software can convert this without problem. But websites that you upload photos to will sometimes try to convert it, and they are no as good at it.
b) set colour profile in the software to something that you like. In Lightroom, I prefer Embedded over the Adobe standard. I don't know about the KP, but for many cameras you can find camera profiles online by various groups. You can even make your own. But now I just stick to Embedded, its good enough.
c) Once you start Post Processing, you should usually add a little Vibrance and saturation and clarity and sharpening and contrast.
06-20-2017, 02:55 PM   #3
Pentaxian