Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-01-2017, 10:14 AM   #1

Downgrading from a Nikon D750 to KP or Fuji XT2?

Hello everyone,
I need some advice.
Background: I'm a beginner in photography even though I have owned some relatively sophisticated gear. I'll admit it...I thought the gear made the picture but after owning a FF Nikon D750, I realized a few things:
1- I don't know much about photography
2- FF bodies are complicated, heavy and not very enjoyable
3- Something about Nikon makes their cameras impersonal and very mainstream.
I previously owned a Pentax K5. The feel in the hand was incredible.
Here I am 1 year into owning the D750 ready to sell it in order to move to a smaller, more enjoyable but decent camera. I own two FF Nikon lenses which I'm ready to sell with the body. I also still own a limited prime lens from Pentax 40mm 2.8 pancake. Right now I'm looking at Pentax KP but not sure whether it would be any good. I want a camera worth learning photography on.
Would you recommend the Pentax KP? Would the Fuji XT2 be a better choice on the long run...I have a preference for OVF which I know is absent in the XT2.

Your help would be greatly appreciated
Thanks,
H.

08-01-2017, 10:29 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think the KP would be a great choice.
08-01-2017, 10:45 AM   #3
Pentaxian

I had a d750 for a little while and sold it for the reasons you mentioned. If you like an OVF the KP is a great choice.
08-01-2017, 10:50 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I don't know if there is any way to try them both? Also, do you like the idea of the retro styling of Fuji cameras?