Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-19-2018, 05:28 AM   #1

2 questions about KP

Hello, I have recently upgraded from a k20d to a KP (wow what a difference holy moly I was in the stone age)

1. This is my first camera with live view. It is my understanding that live view uses a different focusing system than using view finder? Is this the case? Is it better/worse or just "different"? Perhaps I have misunderstood this one.

2. Electronic shutter. 2 questions. One, why would one not exclusively use this feature? Two why is the much advertised 5 axis shake reduction not available for use when using electronic shutter?

Thanks for any help! I am an amateur figuring out all this stuff slowly on my own so feel free to dumb things down!
Michael

01-19-2018, 06:08 AM   #2

I can help with 1. I believe there is generally a noise or other IQ penalty for electronic shutter use (such as rolling shutter) , with 2. I'm be guessing but I wonder if it would be too much for the camera to process moving the sensor so quickly and reading (presumably at a higher speed to prevent rolling shutter) the data.

However I'm no engineer and definitely not an expert. Just an amateur.
01-19-2018, 06:13 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by RosieSC Quote
1. This is my first camera with live view. It is my understanding that live view uses a different focusing system than using view finder? Is this the case? Is it better/worse or just "different"? Perhaps I have misunderstood this one.
Live view uses Contrast Detection and "normal" AF is Phase Detect. They work differently. CD AF is more slow, but is always accurate. But it needs contrast, so focusing on a beige wall will not work well. PD AF is faster but it might have a lens bias, so some lenses might consistently front or back focus. But most modern DSLRs have a Focus adjustment feature to help against this. They are "different" and each has its pros and cons.