Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 36 Likes Search this Thread
12-06-2019, 03:00 PM - 1 Like   #16
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by PentaxDent Quote
Hi there, I'm a relative beginner and I use my camera for any type of photography I can get the chance to do. Recently upgraded to KP from a k50.

I'm a keen walker and I want to use my KP to take some landscapes whilst I'm out walking. Landscape photography is never listed as a strong suit for the KP in reviews. I was wondering if this is simply because it's an APS-C or if it has some specific limitations or weaknesses as a body.

Anyway - My question is - What tips do you have to help me get the most out of the camera for landscape photography? Settings, technique etc.

I have a DAL 18-55 lens and just bought a plastic fantastic DA 35mm 2.4 AL. I know that wider lenses would help me out but for know I'm particularly keen to hear tips that I can use without splashing any more cash.

Thanks in advance to all you more advanced Pentaxians!
Bud a solid tripod ;-)

12-06-2019, 06:29 PM - 1 Like   #17
Pentaxian

#1.....buy a Tripod.
#2.....get out and shoot.
#3....Shoot in decent early or late light....Very Important.

Nothing wrong with an APSC camera for landscapes at all.
The 18-55 lens doesn't get much respect around here , but Ive used it as well as others here on PF to get some really nice shots.
Don't shoot wide open....STOP down to 5.6-11 for best results.
Learn your lenses and get hands on experience with your camera.
That's the best advice anyone will give in the beginning

Last edited by Ronald Oakes; 12-06-2019 at 06:35 PM.
12-07-2019, 10:22 AM - 1 Like   #18
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

^^ What Ronald said; and add pixel shift into the mix.
12-07-2019, 01:37 PM - 1 Like   #19
Site Supporter
Site Supporter