Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-05-2021, 02:43 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
KP on the way......any advice on setup

Very excited.....exactly 10 years after buying my kx I have now just hit the buy button on a kp and it's on its way. I can't wait.
I've been drooling after the kp for several years but could never easily justify the expense of a purchase while I had a working kx but the recent price drops and discontinued status finally made me act. I hope I don't regret it.

While I love my kx and am keeping it, it did with time bring some frustrations such as one control dial and the inability to easily see or the change the iso while shooting with the viewfinder and some focusing limitations (no red focus points, no focus peaking and rather dodgy focusing in low light and no focus tuning options). It's incompatibility with astrotracer and the new 55-300plm were also rather annoying as I want to try these at some point. That all said, I have had some great experiences with it and it's generated some great photos and will always have a fond place in my heart.

A lot of my most enjoyable shooting is actually with old manual primes, specifically the k24/2.8, m50/1.7, k55/1.8, m85/2 and k135/2.5 as I just love their build quality, optical results and the slow, deliberate picture taking process of using them. Their small size and weight I think should be well matched to the classic look of the kp. Can anyone comment on their experiences of using the two together? I'm hoping that the kp's pentaprism, larger viewfinder magnification and focus peaking and more sensitive central focal point and improved metering will all help.

Any further advice on setting up the kp for use with old primes beyond enabling aperture ring and the use of m mode? I believe that there's a custom setting on the kp's dial, but I'm not exactly sure what it does?
I will also have to experiment with grip size I guess.