Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 11 Likes Search this Thread
07-09-2022, 10:30 AM   #1

KP ISSUES! (The camera is 2 years old)

I have been experiencing remote trigger issue with my KP, and the autofocus is a bit wonky sometimes (many times).

1. My remote trigger will refuse to fire, but if I unplug the trigger and blow gently into trigger socket then plug back in, the trigger seems to function.
2. Autofocus claims it's in focus, I fire the shot and my image looks like I took it from a severely rocky boat. This is with my camera mounted firmly to a tripod in my makeshift studio. No vibration of any kind.

The only solution to keep the camera going now is to blow into trigger hole when remote stops functioning. For AF I found if I remove the lens a few times and remount it, eventually the AF begins to work again. being that I am not an electronic engineer, I have NO desire to start tinkering with this camera. My only option is a tech service, but i am concerned that the cost to repair will exceed the value of this camera.

I think it is time for me to move on.

07-09-2022, 10:48 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
What lens/es are you having the autofocus issue on? Clean the contacts (on lens and camera) will for sure be the first advice anyone should give, and hopefully that will solve that.

For the remote issue, is there any chance there's some kind of foreign debris in the socket? Like a piece of lint or something? That's one possibility. Trying with another remote could be another thing to try, sometimes wires wear out and it could just be the movement that makes it work, with the blowing only a placebo.
07-09-2022, 10:55 AM   #3

Sounds like there is some lint or other gunk in the remote socket. Did you try blowing it out with your lens blower? Or a tiny bit of contact cleaner on the tip of the plug?

Are you using mirror lockup or turning off image stabilization when using the tripod?
07-09-2022, 11:07 AM   #4